Wednesday pondering – on endings and beginnings

It so happens that today is the 31st of December. Yeah, the last day of 2014 falls in a Wednesday, and as I saw it this morning, a voice inside me (yes, I hear voices inside me – calm down, I don’t listen to all of them :D) told me to make an attempt at writing my so irregular by now pondering. And what better subject to talk about in such a day than endings and beginnings?!

It was a strange year this one, for many of my acquaintances, not just for me. It was a weird path, with unusual ups and downs. Not necessarily bad, but the lows seemed more painful and the ups more unexpected. Maybe to some this is a good thing – personally, I hate roller coasters🙂. Perhaps that explains my reaction.

A friend of mine (it’s always a friend, isn’t it?🙂 ) told me yesterday that she found the following highly amusing phrase:

When life hits you and brings you to the ground, stand up, clean yourself, smile and say very politely “You hit like a girl”

and then she completed: “yeah, and sometimes life says “challenge accepted” and hits you again, this time harder”. We laughed, but the truth is that not just once, when we think that things couldn’t go any worse, fate proves us wrong. And the converse is valid too – getting a thumbs up when you least expect it. That’s about how this year went, at least for me🙂.

Remember though that not always do we sail on smooth waters. Sometimes we are lucky enough to find ourselves on the calm face of a sea, other times we get all wet and shaken by a rocky mountain river. But what you have to keep in mind is that “when you hit rock bottom, the only way to go is up”. Haruki Murakami wrote “Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional” and he was right. One cannot avoid pain during life’s course. But to dwell in those moments instead of reaching out for better ones is a mistake.

So, no matter how bad 2014 went, lift your eyes and say to yourselves “2015 will be better”. And believe what you say – that is the most important part. You have to be convinced that the year to come is on an upward course🙂. After all, even Pandora kept her hope – shouldn’t we do the same?

At midnight I will raise my glass and think of new beginnings, not forgetting that they are founded on endings, no matter their nature. And I will think of all my dear ones, hoping that whatever the New Year will bring, love and understanding and compassion will not be left out🙂.

Cheers, my friends! And a Happy New Year to all of you!🙂

© 2014 Liliana Negoi

Leave a Reply

