among seconds

seconds lurch amidst my legs
like a puppy whose eyes barely opened,
blinded by the madness flowing from my footsteps,
from my movements,
giddy with the living scent of the earth
rummaged by rainworms.
seconds lurch,
cling to the fringe of my coat with imploring whimpers,
stick to the ankles of my thought like some bell bracelets,
begging for me to take them faster
where they are condemned by the clock’s hands
to get too slowly.
they lurch, dear ones, together with the grass stamped
by too blue the sky and by too heavy the clay for the sand.
and each time they stumble
among them i can see
your name.

© 2014 Liliana Negoi

originally written in Romanian

Leave a Reply

