Wednesday pondering – on mine and yours

I felt the urge of writing this because lately everybody around me seems so fondly attached to objects and feels the need to express possession of those – “my TV”, “my phone”, “my house”, “my room”, “my car”, “my, my, my…” and so on. As if any of those “earthly treasures” can somehow define who we are, or at least a part of whom we are. We endow these things with the mark of our existence, with the power to shape our personality, and we do that gladly, because most of the time they are the symbol of a wish come true. “I wanted that, and now I finally have it”.

Personally, I didn’t have a problem with this, until I realized that for certain people, the “my” stated above became much stronger than the “my” related to those around them. In the second when “my TV” is more important than “my mother” we have to realize that something is wrong. It’s not our possession of an object that is bad – it’s our possession BY that object. With the risk of sounding a bit religious, it’s OK to treasure the symbol that such an object is (or its content, if there is one), but not the object itself. After all, the earthly nature of all things – and beings – is an evanescent one, and we shouldn’t forget that, while we can always buy another phone if ours broke, not everything else (for instance relationships with others) is replaceable in a similar manner. Life is more than just objects and places, life is first about people and what we share with them – which is us, first of all. So take a minute to think about what is truly ours in this world, what we REALLY own, and what the things that we take for granted are. You might find out that some of you are richer than you thought, and others are the poorest of them all. And to that I add a quote that is as simple, as profound:

“People were created to be loved. Things were created to be used. The reason why the world is in chaos is because things are being loved and people are being used.”

I don’t know who said this – as much as I searched for its author on the internet, I couldn’t find it. So if by some accident, one of you knows who said it, please let me know.

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ll shut down my laptop and go out and breathe some fresh air. Everybody’s air.

© 2014 Liliana Negoi

Comments
2 Responses to “Wednesday pondering – on mine and yours”
  1. Sir Morose says:

    Wonderful…love the humanity 🙂

Leave a Reply

