The unchaining – flash fiction

– Are you OK?
Your voice breaks soft through the frozen wall of numbness surrounding my being. I look at you, blinking quickly to remove the haze, and you take that as a proof of me not understanding your question, so you kindly ask again, a bit slower this time:
– Are you OK?
Am I allowed to be honest? Am I allowed to open my lips and to let the entire whirl of feelings flow out of the silver cage? No, I am not OK. I am tired of pretending that I’m fine, all that I want is to take a deep breath and scream to you that fine is the last thing that I am, because I’m sad, because I’m desperate, because I long to reach out and pick ripe photons from the first ray of sun reflecting itself in your eyes in the morning, because I’m sure that your palms would perfectly match my skin, because I want to open up my chest with my bare hands and to show you how my heartbeats literally bloom in the rare moments when your gaze meets mine, when your thoughts twin by some deliciously painful coincidence my thoughts, when some phrase of mine brings a sheen of pride in your eyes during exams…
Your irises fix me through the glasses, coloring the air into dark chocolate – and my mouth is dry as it births words toilsomely:
– I’m fine, professor, thank you…

 

 

© Liliana Negoi

Comments
2 Responses to “The unchaining – flash fiction”
  1. granbee says:

    A perfect, perfect, prose writing to capture that wild crush the female student is developing on her professor. All we book worm girls have been through this, have we not?

  2. elizena says:

    Wonderful, perfectly wonderful. Wow, I know what it feels like to fall in love with someone because of how they’ve encouraged you and made you feel special. I think I fell in love with one high school teacher and one college professor. It really hurt really hurtAs granbee said, “All we book worm girls have been through this, have we not?” Oh yes we have. Be blessed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

