casualties

Crest Red Cosmos

her fingertips were red,
carrying on them entire continents of cosmos blood
‘he loves me’
and right there, at her feet,
the pile of sacrificed flowers
‘he loves me not’
needed no tombstone.
her lips stained with satiny superstitions
‘he loves me’
slightly pouted,
while sentencing to death each petal.
‘he loves me not’
and in all this time,
those velvety crimson leaves
‘he loves me’
didn’t have the slightest idea
of who was the ‘he’ for whom they were dying…

 

 

© Liliana Negoi

Comments
3 Responses to “casualties”
  1. elizena says:

    LOL!! I used to do this all the time when I was younger, but this made them seem alive. Now I feel guilty for killing the poor flowers. I’ll never do it again. I promise!!
    Have a Merry Christmas!

  2. I so love this! Cool perspective!

  3. granbee says:

    How we DO waste our treasure, our natural resources, on trying to label and contain love! Beautiful post, very effectively making your point!

Leave a Reply

