in core verbum sanguis meus fluat

rise from my chest!
ye word of words,
climb your way out of depths
on my ladder of heartbeats
pounding crimson and milky
through ancient shingles that once used to channel
earth’s magmatic childhood.
claw your calligraphy around my pulse
and let your sine curves imprint my breath
as i’m exhaling you over blank scrolls,
ensanguined –
my quill, eager to witness your rising,
has yet to taste your shape,
forged eons ago from sand and salt,
now to be revealed.
come pave the minds with your echoes –
and free my heart!

 

 

© Liliana Negoi

 

___________________

in core verbum sanguis meus fluat (lat.) = within word’s core my blood flows

Comments
13 Responses to “in core verbum sanguis meus fluat”
  1. granbee says:

    Ladder of heartbeats within YOU, Lili, will indeed allow you to climb up high enough to free your own heart! And I really enjoyed the image of the quill as witness to this new arising!

  2. River says:

    Lili, this beautiful. You gave me goose bumps. Superb usage of words. 🙂 xx

  3. Fireblossom says:

    “Earth’s magmatic childhood”…I love that!

  4. Laurie Kolp says:

    I really like this, especially…

    claw your calligraphy around my pulse
    and let your sine curves imprint my breath

    … although I’m not sure what sine curves are.

  5. You capture the search for the perfect word with such passion. I’m sure any writer will immediately relate.

  6. Titus says:

    I love the rallying cry opening!

  7. jinksy says:

    climb your way out of depths
    on my ladder of heartbeats

    Sure way to the top! ♥

  8. Margaret says:

    my quill, eager to witness your rising,
    has yet to taste your shape

    This was fun “rallying cry” as stated above.

  9. Love the “ladder of heartbeats” and the accelerating intensity of the poem to its glorious closing lines. Beautiful, Lili!

  10. Mary says:

    Visiting from Real Toads: Definitely want to have those words rise up. Beautifully written and thought-provoking.

  11. Caty says:

    this was an awesome exclamation for that word to rise up…I had a sense that you were searching for just the right word and were demanding it to surface. i loved this!

Leave a Reply

