The gift – sonnet

added here for Room for Romance #3

My home’s a sacred place, a holy shrine,
since it became the shelter of a rose;
a rose I hold so dearly to be mine,
and that I treasure every day that goes.
For some it may just be, though very nice,
a simple flower, scentless and now sere,
a flower that’s not worthy of a price,
but that I long each day to have so near.

Yet, so sweet lady, truth is otherwise:
this rose I cherish more and more each day,
this simple beauty, is my lucky prize,
because, my lady, what I have to say,
is that the rose that keeps me out of drift,
is that thou gave me once as priceless gift…

 

© Liliana Negoi

Comments
6 Responses to “The gift – sonnet”
  1. Liliana, first of all, congrats on a beautiful sonnet. The first two lines, especially, blew me away. Home as a sacred place–the home within–because it cares for a rose. The rose as a symbol of love. I wish the word awesome wasn’t so overused, because that’s what it is.

  2. I welcome you to Room for Romance.. What a sonnet.. I loved it.. It blewed me, sure.. romantic.. I will consider this for Romantic Room of the week..

    –Someone Is Special–

  3. Anurag says:

    hey,

    really exquisite lines , syncing completely with the pic.
    Romantic for sure,
    and I completely agree with S.I.S, for the best post of #3.
    lovely poem.

  4. Jingle says:

    a precious rose,
    worthy mention…

    lovely romance.

  5. Christine says:

    A beatiful sonnet with exquisite rhythm. I really enjoyed this!

Leave a Reply

