last wish

bring withered purple roses to my grave
when I’ll be gone…
and light a candle too…
I’ll know the light is there because of you…
don’t cry, my friend, we die just once…
be brave…
and when my grave in roses scent will lave,
I’ll know you’ll weep upon it…
and it’s true,
I’ll miss this world, and more, I will miss you…
but then, my friend, we die just once…
be brave…
I’ll still be watching, as a windy wave,
upon your soul, from heavens, hoping you
will find somehow a way to say “adieu”,
because, my friend, we die just once…
be brave…
so when you’ll come to see my earthly grave,
remember me how I remember you…
just with a loving smile, as I’ll have, too,
up-ther’, wher’I’ll be gone, my friend so brave…

© Liliana Negoi

Comments
28 Responses to “last wish”
  1. danroberson says:

    We die just once. Be brave. The ending comes for all of us and learning how to live first makes the ending easier. Be brave. Great poem.

  2. Jingle says:

    sad wish.
    lovely put.

  3. Jingle says:

    Glad to have you in.
    Happy Rally.
    xx

  4. ah… it is sad.. i loved the way you played here..

    Three Knots

    Happy Rally !

    –Someone Is Special–

  5. A.B. Thomas says:

    As I was reading the words, I couldn’t help but shift and insert your words into Hamlet’s mouth as he speaks to Ophelia. Brilliantly done.

  6. ScottlB says:

    very touching, sad but comforting to a friend to the end…true friendship
    http://words4afriend.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/poets-heart/

  7. Scent of my heart says:

    So sad! But true, true … we die once and we want people to remember us smiling and brave!

  8. Jessicas Japes says:

    A really moving poem, you have crafted this beautifully! I like the repetition of dieing just once.

    http://jessicasjapes.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/i-want-chocolate/

  9. this poem really spoke to me.
    truly beautiful and moving.

  10. G. K. Asante says:

    Sad, beautiful and true. Well done.

  11. This makes me want to cry and be brave at the same time. Your poem evokes such strong emotions in me.
    http://thebeatofmydrum.com/2010/10/28/star-gazing/

  12. Shashi says:

    Dear Liliana

    I liked it so much… sad, feeling of being lost and hoping that there will be someone who is giving some light even after one is gone… your words “I’ll know the light is there because of you…” touched me. thanks for sharing…

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  13. meloncholic and beautiful! thanks for sharing

  14. Jamie Dedes says:

    A true poem and well done. Thank you!

    A fine contribution to Rally.

  15. Anita (Aquarius63) says:

    I have been the one left behind by a lover and a brother, I keep their memory close to my heart. A beautiful poem about something that comes to us all.

    Anita.

  16. beautiful poem. your use of rhyme is very subtle which i appreciated immensely. made me miss my dead friend…

  17. Lu Ann says:

    They always say we only live once… but I had never heard that we die just once and it sounded very musical to me 🙂

    Happy Rally!

    Lu Ann

  18. Shawn Bird says:

    When I lived in Finland, I was so touched by their devotion to their cemeteries. Because during the winter it is dark during the days, instead of flowers they put jars of candles on the graves. Your poem brings back the memory of driving past cemeteries with lights twinkling out of the darkness like joyful remembrances.
    Shawn
    http://shawnbird.com/2010/11/06/old-love/ is my Rally entry this week.

  19. very sad, yet true poem.. the repetition plays upon the heart well..

    My Rally Entry

  20. Sumit Sarkar says:

    So true…beautifully painted… 🙂

  21. ‘We die only once’ is something new. I have been used to hearing ‘we live only once.’ Thank you for provoking my thoughts. Beautiful poem.

    http://wordsworthmillions.wordpress.com/2010/11/06/my-religion/

  22. Jingle says:

    how are you?
    reminding you silly and the same stuff;
    return favors,
    do 18 NEW….
    let me know after you are done.

    here is mine:
    http://itistimetothinkformyself.blogspot.com/2010/11/today-i-write-it-down.html

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

